CPAC 2014 – An Once In a Lifetime Experience

By Sam Hill, Class of 2016

March 6th-8th came around last month, and for myself instead of spending the week here at Taylor University in class and in the normal routine of the week, I had the opportunity to travel to Washington D.C. to attend the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC). CPAC is an annual conference held in our Nation’s Capital, which brings speakers from all over the country and all walks of life together to address the current political atmosphere of the country. All three days of the conference were filled with speakers and events to attend; all of these opportunities stretched my beliefs and opinions on politics, religion, and morals.

This year was the 50th anniversary of CPAC, so they pulled every string they could to make it a memorable event. This years speakers included Dr. Ben Carson, Eric Metaxas (Author of Bonheoffer), Donald Trump, Sarah Palin, Sen. Ted Cruz, Rep. Paul Ryan, Former U.S. House Speaker Newt Gingrich, Sen. Marco Rubio, Gov. Chris Christie, Gov. Rick Perry and so many more! If you can think of a Conservative politician chances were that they were in attendance. The opportunity to hear all of these men and women of such respect and success was completely eye opening. Being one interested in holding public office someday, who’s ultimate goal is to bring honor and glory to the Lord through practicing Christian politics in whatever level of government God blesses me with the opportunity to serve in, hearing these leaders speak about their faith, families, and work helped me to get an even greater sense of vocation and calling for my life.

Meeting so many of these great speakers and having the opportunity to talk to them about my career goals and dreams was really a God-given gift. From meeting Eric Metaxas and getting to talk to him for a good fifteen minutes just about his life and what I want to do someday was exhilarating. Attending a private premiere of former U.S. Senator Rick Sanctorum’s new film and getting to get talk to Senator about his faith and motivation in politics based off of his biblically based views was an experience I will never forget. The opportunities to shake the hands and say hello to Donald Trump, Newt Gingrich, Ben Carson, Sarah Palin, Michelle Bachman, Rand Paul, Rick Sanctorum, and Eric Metaxas proved to be an once-in-a-lifetime meeting that will have an impact on my life for years to come.

Regardless of your political views and positions on issues facing this country, it is important to note the amazing direction that the Lord gives to each one of us when it comes to our calling and vocation. A few years ago I would never have said that I was even remotely interested in politics, but through my life experiences that has completely changed and had you asked me three years ago if I even cared about government and politics my response would be a definite no! God does some crazy things in each one of our lives to show us what he has designed us to do with our vocation and careers. CPAC gave me opportunities to network and connect with some many who share my passion for Christ-centered politics. God is good all the time and He used CPAC this year to lead me even closer to my career path and to see what God has in store for my calling and vocation someday soon.

Leave a comment